I’m not dead!

Sorry for the long absence, friends!

The fall and winter of 2013 turned out to be pretty topsy-turvy and busy for our little family, and for me especially.  For one thing, we found out that we are expecting our second child!

Baby Card 1950s #64Yes, this was planned, and YES we are SO EXCITED!  Baby is due in June, so that put me having morning sickness and feeling like I had been run over by a bus throughout the fall and holiday season.  Fun fun fun!

That said, I didn’t have much energy to do anything, especially blog or work on my pattern shop.  Although my sister and I have kept up our baby toy business and tried to do a few holiday shows.  We did pretty well, as evidenced by our mostly-empty Etsy store!  Time to work on re-stocking…

With my first pregnancy, I had grand plans of sewing all sorts of adorable maternity clothes for myself.  I didn’t end up finishing one project.  I think it partially had to do with the fact that I was due in December and most of the maternity patterns I had were summer patterns.  I didn’t get very big with the first baby, and in the summer I was pretty much just wearing my non-maternity clothes.  So yeah, that’s how it goes.

This time around, however, I really do want to add some cute vintage maternity to my wardrobe!  Perhaps a few of those big poofy 50’s maternity tops?  A mod maternity dress or two?  We shall see.

One of my resolutions for this year is to really amp up my pattern shop again.  Last year was tough, just getting adjusted to having a baby around and trying to juggle my new job as Mother with all of the things I already had going on.  Needless to say, The Vintage Home Sewist was sadly neglected in 2013.  My goal is to make 2014 an awesome year for the shop.  I have SO MANY amazing patterns, just sitting in boxes waiting to be counted, packaged and listed!  I can’t wait to share them with you.

My baby step toward this goal is to list 10 new patterns every week.  So be sure to stop into the shop each Monday and check out what new goodies I’ve added to the store!  Here’s one that I added today…

Scan 1319Oh. My. Goodness.

For those of you who are still reading and are remotely interested, another member of our little homestead is expecting as well–Irma the goat!

irmaskylarThis is Irma.  She is my favorite goatie ever.

I didn’t keep track of breeding dates (bad Bessie!), but I’m thinking she will probably kid in 2-3 weeks.  Her udder has started to fill and she is looking quite enormous.  Crossing my fingers for more than one kid from her this year, and hopefully at least one lovely little doe!

With that I will let you go.  Have a wonderful, productive week!

Bessie

6 thoughts on “I’m not dead!

  1. I enjoy your blog! I do pray that you are feeling some better now. It is rough feeling like that- with a baby too! I am praying for you- oh, and late HAPPY BIRTHDAY- I did text you that day! Did you get it?
    Much love,
    Aunt Jayne 🙂

    • My does are Nigoras–Angora/Nigerian Dwarf crosses. 🙂 My buck is a full blooded ND. I’m hoping to add an Angora this spring as well, so that I can start my own line of F1 Nigoras. I love them–they are just the coolest goats! Beautiful fiber AND diary, all rolled into one. 😀 Good luck with your babies! It is SO exciting!!

      • I thought they looked like Angora. I would love to get an Angora to go along with my Nigerians. I’ve been looking into them, but haven’t been able to find anyone that sells them around here. They are adorable and I also love their fiber. 🙂

Leave a Reply

