Chicks

IMG_0231

Today was an exciting day.  Three little chickies hatched out into the world!  Baby E and I went to check on mama hen and heard lots of little peeps coming from underneath her.  Much to our delight, we soon saw little beaks peeking out from under her fluff, no doubt curious as to what the strange human voice sound was. 😉

Mama hen is sitting on 13 eggs now, which have mostly been laid by the other hen, one per day over the past couple weeks.  That means that we should have one chick hatching every day for the next 13 days.  I will be removing the chicks to the brooder as they hatch to encourage mama to keep sitting on the remaining eggs.  Not an ideal situation, but I could not get the other hen to lay in another nesting box–she was quite determined!

Chicks are so precious.  And chickens are such a delight.  We have really enjoyed ours.  I love walking out on my front porch and finding fresh eggs in the nesting box each morning!  What a sweet gift.

My friend loved her nightie!  It was a hit!  I’m so glad. 🙂

Have a lovely weekend!

Bessie

One thought on “Chicks

  1. Can’t wait to see the sweet fluffy chickadees! My father in law raises chickens and hatching time is my favorite time of the year. I think I scoop and kiss every single chick! They smell so good, like wood chips and warm feathers.

Leave a Reply

