1960′s Babydoll Nightgown

IMG_0161

Hello fellow sewists!  The first project I am going to share with you is a very adorable babydoll nightgown that I am making as a gift for a friend of mine’s lingerie party. :)

IMG_0177

This is the view I am making (they are both practically the same, only mine is made with chiffon and lined with crepe and has a tie belt) (I opted out of the lace around the yoke).

So I pulled out my pattern and fabric, anxious to start cutting, and much to my chagrin realized that half of the pattern was missing (i.e. the yoke front and back pieces).  Ah!  So out came an old sheet–I had some drafting to do.

IMG_0178

It didn’t take long.  :)

IMG_0179 IMG_0180

Once drafting was finished, I proceeded with the cutting. :)

IMG_0181

Next it was time to seam together the chiffon with French seams.  Oo-la-la!

IMG_0182

Is not this crepe georgette luscious?  I kinda wanted to eat it.

IMG_0183

The top edges of the nightie were gathered using three lines of basting stitches, which made for extra scrumptiousness.

IMG_0184

This is a shot of the underarm bias binding, pinned in place and ready for the first stitching.  It was a double layer, and once machine stitched onto the outside, it was hand stitched in place on the inside.  It turned out very nice, as you will see in following pictures!

IMG_0185

Sisters and babies!  The baby on the left is my little E.  The one on the right is her sweet cousin. They had fun playing with each other while I was sewing away. :)

IMG_0186

The almost-finished product!  At this point, all I need to do is hem the crepe georgette.  The chiffon is made of nylon and does not fray, so I am just going to leave it as-is.  You can see a little pulling on the yoke–I need to give it another press.

IMG_0193

IMG_0194

Something terrible did happen in the process of making this lovely nightgown.  I um, well…

I melted a bit of the nylon chiffon.  On the front of the garment.  Yep.

IMG_0195

That is why there is a cute blue bow there. :)

IMG_0196

The back!

IMG_0197

Lovely bias binding.

IMG_0198

IMG_0199

And this is what it looks like with the ribbon tie.  I love it!

IMG_0200

Hopefully my dear friend will love it too. :)

And with that said, I ought to go and finish hemming it, as the lingerie party is this evening!

Toodle-oo!

Bessie

7 thoughts on “1960′s Babydoll Nightgown

  1. Absolutely fabulous! Mum’s wedding negligee is very similar, except with about 5 layers, so mildly less indecent, but then it was the 60′s and the length was positively indecent! ;) I love it as a lingerie gift, the seams are fabulous and the emergency bow is just too cute – as are the little cuties! Thanks for sharing!

  2. So delicate! I love it, I wonder if it would work with a thicker fabric in the winter, I would love to make a few for the winter as well. How pretty! Do you have an etsy shop?

Leave a Reply

